Tuesday, December 6

Previous Issues

Follow us on Instagram
Try our latest crossword

U. administration clarifies minimum penalty for faculty responsible for sexual harassment

On Sept. 24, President Christopher Eisgruber ’83 and the Dean of the Faculty Sanjeev Kulkarni sent a memorandum to faculty members that clarified the minimum penalty for all cases in which faculty members are found responsible of sexual harassment. 

During the Sept. 24 Council of the Princeton University Community meeting, Eisgruber urged committee members to look at the memorandum.


Kulkarni and Eisgruber co-wrote the memo. They cited the Rules and Procedures of the Faculty, which states that the penalties should be “commensurate with the nature of the offense.” 

Eisgruber and Kulkarni wrote in the memo that the minimum penalty in any case of sexual harassment is a one-year unpaid suspension from the faculty, effective immediately. 

During the CPUC meeting, Eisgruber said that he and Kulkarni believe the memo can help Princeton make progress on a “very important issue,” sexual harassment. Eisgruber emphasized that sexual harassment “does serious damage” to the lives of University students and faculty. 

Eisgruber pointed out that the University’s policies on sexual harassment are “as good as what our peers have,” but he acknowledged the Faculty Advisory Committee on Policy’s suggestions — that the University “can be even better and that we have a responsibility to be better.” 

“It is important that Princeton University is a leader in this area,” Eisgruber said. 

Memo to the Faculty on Sexual Harrassment Policies - September 24, 2018. Courtesy of Office of the Dean of the Faculty.