Listen to Daybreak and be up-to-date in three minutes
Today's Front Page
Try our latest crossword

Opinion

Kodak moment

At 9 p.m. Monday the 'Prince' was inundated with calls from students ? both experienced and inexperienced with networked University computers ? who were concerned with the pictures appearing on the University's home page.

OPINION | 03/03/1998

The crumbling ivory tower

Ah, Italy enslaved, hostel of misery, ship without pilot in great tempest, no princess among the provinces, but a brothel!" I begin this column with Dante's great apostrophe to Italy in order to express what must be the sentiment of anyone who truly cares for this beautiful but seriously diseased and overrun university.While all of its publications have remained strangely silent or unceasingly self-congratulatory, Princeton has become enslaved to the disease of corporate greed, home to myriad forms of boredom, misery, loneliness and discontent ? a leaderless, purposeless place, and a sink of human cruelty and indifference.

OPINION | 03/02/1998

Big brother

Public Safety Crime Prevention Specialist Barry Weiser was pleased last Sunday with the performance of the "Axis 200 Web Camera" ? currently filming the progress of the new football stadium's construction ? when the camera caught trespassers on the construction site.

OPINION | 03/02/1998

ADVERTISEMENT

Giving a nod to Durham's 'Cameron Crazies'

Two basketball games, one night. In one arena, thousands of college students waved green construction-paper leaves, taunting an opposing team for their star's quitting over charges of marijuana use.At the other stadium, somewhere over a thousand collegians jumped up and down and yelled repeatedly that their opposition "sucks."Which crowd would you rather be a part of?The first, I say.Which crowd was Princeton's?The second, you know.Last Saturday night's Dartmouth game was probably my last time in the stands for a Princeton basketball game as an undergraduate.

OPINION | 02/26/1998

Letters to the Editor

Ratings justifiedI am disturbed by the 164 law school deans who, in a letter to me and all law school applicants this year, claimed that "law school rankings may be hazardous to (my) health." Despite the warm-fuzziness of this egalitarian plea, I find their position perplexing.First of all, how is it that U.S.

OPINION | 02/26/1998

Letters to the Editor

On 'insults' to students' intellectThe current controversy over grade inflation at Princeton has prompted a number of newspaper articles and letters to the editor, from the front-page story in The New York Times to the recent statements of Mr. Corwin in Friday's 'Prince.' Everything that I have come across in respect to this situation has disturbed me greatly.The first insult was learning from The Times that every good grade that I have earned at Princeton is meaningless.

OPINION | 02/24/1998

Considering the consequences of alleged grade inflation

In the wake of The New York Times article on grade inflation at Princeton University, I began to ponder the effects such a situation could have on the future of Princeton students.In good faith, I cannot deny all of the claims the article made, partly because I've only completed one semester here and partly because I've heard stories of grade inflation in certain courses.

OPINION | 02/23/1998

Letters to the Editor

On defense of 'Smart Fan' logicSince the printing of yesterday's 'Prince' article "Student group criticizes fan behavior at basketball games," I have received an exorbitant amount of criticism for my participation in the 'Smart Fans' fight against excessive heckling at basketball games.Let me begin by saying that when Jon Garfunkel first approached me about my feelings on the matter and before the article was even printed, I would not have considered myself a devout 'Smart Fan.' However, after justifying myself and my position on the topic to my friends and acquaintances this afternoon, I have found even more of a reason to be a part of Jon's impromptu organization of like-minded students.Jon Garfunkel, in all of his efforts, is not attempting to hamper fan participation and spirit at games.

OPINION | 02/23/1998

Letters to the Editor

Opening doorsThe remarks made by Boston University Director of Financial Aid Barbara Tornow accusing Princeton of trying to "buy" students with its new expanded financial aid policy are ridiculous.Ms. Tornow accuses Princeton of stealing lower and middle class students from Boston University and other similar institutions by making it possible for them to attend Princeton.

OPINION | 02/22/1998