Try our latest crossword
Follow us on Instagram
Try our daily mini crossword

USG announces class council presidents

Jonathan Ma ’15, Justin Ziegler ’16 and CJ Harris ’17 have been elected presidents of their respective class councils, and Benedict Wagstaff ’14 was elected president of the Class of 2014 Alumni Council officers, USG president Shawon Jackson ’15 announced in an email to students Friday evening.

“It was a good election, and we had good voter turnout overall, I believe,” chief elections manager Amara Nnaeto ’17 said.


Additionally, the referendum to separate the class governments from the senate passed with 1661 votes in favor and 277 opposed.

"I'm pleased that [the referendum] passed," Jackson said.

The U-Council will be made up of Mallory Banks ’16, Jacob Cannon ’17, Richard Chang ’17, Katherine Clifton ’15, Daniel Johnson ’15, Dan Mozley ’17, Dallas Nan ’16, Chad Nuckols ’17, Zhan Okuda-Lim ’15 and Sol Taubin ’16.

Johnson is a senior writer for The Daily Princetonian, and Banks is a former writer for Street.

Ma will be joined on the Class of 2015 Council by vice president Misha Bansal ’15, social chair Jenna Newman ’15, treasurer Cordelia Orillac ’15 and secretary Yeri Lee ’15.

On the Class of 2016 Council, Gwen Lee ’16 will serve as vice president, Alec Regulski ’16 will be the social chair, Richard Lu ’16 will serve as treasurer, and Priya Krishnan ’16 will be secretary.


The Class of 2017 elected Nathan Suek ’17 vice president, Ariel Hsing ’17 social chair, Caroline Snowden ’17 treasurer and Nusrat Ahmed ‘17 secretary.

The other elected Class of 2014 Alumni Council officer is Kathleen Ryan ’14, who will serve as the secretary. There will be runoff elections for both the vice president and treasurer positions.

Cameron Henneberg ’14 and Kelly Shon ’14 are running for the position of vice president, and Eileen Lee ’14 and John McNamara ’14 are running for treasurer.

Nnaeto said she is glad elections ran smoothly and that people take in interest in USG by voting. She also said she hopes to see less uncontested elections in the future.

Get the best of ‘the Prince’ delivered straight to your inbox. Subscribe now »

“I wish that more people would run against incumbents, and that more people would try to get involved in USG,” Nnaeto said.

Correction: Due to a reporting error, an earlier version of this article misstated the name of Jonathan Ma '15. Due to an editing error, an earlier version of this article misstated the last name of Shawon Jackson '15. The 'Prince' regrets the errors.


Most Popular