Support the ‘Prince’

Please disable ad blockers for our domain. Thank you!

The University has announced seven new alumni trustees, who will begin their term on the Board of Trustees effectiveJuly 1.

The University appointed Henri Ford '80 and Philip Hammarskjold '87, who were elected by the Board to serve as charter trustees with an eight-year term. Ford is the vice president and chief of surgery at Children's Hospital Los Angeles, and Hammarskjold is is the chief executive officer of Hellman & Friedman, an investment firm in San Francisco. Both Ford and Hammarskjold previously served as term trustees of the University.

The Board of Trustees also elected Blair Effron '84 and Thomas Roberts '85 to serve as term trustees with a four-year term. Effron is the co-founder of Centerview Partners, an investment banking firm in New York City, and is on the board of the Lincoln Center, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Council on Foreign Relations. Roberts manages Summit Partners' Peak Performance Group, which is based in Boston, Massachusetts, and is on the national council of the American Enterprise Institute.

José Alvarez '85 and Derek Kilmer '96 were elected by University alumni to serve for four years as alumni trustees. Alvarez is currently a senior lecturer at Harvard Business School, and was the chief executive officer of the Stop and Shop Supermarket Company. Kilmer is a Congressman in the U.S. House of Representatives representing Washington's Sixth Congressional District, which includes the Olympic Peninsula and Tacoma-Pierce County. Kilmer was also a recipient of the M. Taylor Pyne Honor Prize and the Marshall Scholarship.

Azza Cohen '16 was elected by the classes of 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017 to serve as a young alumni trustee for four years. Cohen graduated this year with a degree in history, and will be studying at the National University of Ireland Galway as a George J. Mitchell scholar.

The six current trustees whose terms finish onJune 30are: Jaime Ayala '84, Angela Groves '12, Laurence Morse GS '80, Robert Murley '72, Ruth Simmons, and John Wynne '67.

Comments powered by Disqus