Follow us on Instagram
Try our daily mini crossword
Play our latest news quiz
Download our new app on iOS/Android!

Opinion

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Musicians should express themselves without considering their listeners' tastesI am writing to you to express a few thoughts on the March 28 column "On Musical ? and Audience ?Appreciation," in which Nathan Arrington '02 criticized the Philadelphia Orchestra's concert program for its inclusion of the Fourth Symphony by Michael Tippett.

OPINION | 04/02/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Why Horowitz overlooked Princeton

David Horowitz has never lost his desire to shock.The "red-diaper baby" of Communist parents, Horowitz spent his youth as an ally of the Black Panthers, creating mayhem and protesting that black men could never get a fair trial in the United States.Then the Black Panthers murdered one of his friends, and suddenly the criminal justice system didn't look so bad.

OPINION | 04/01/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Funds should support rearing, not abortingI would like to respond to Natasha Burley '00's March 28 column: "Family planning requires taking a hard look at reality."I believe in choices.

OPINION | 04/01/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Missing Out

You may have noticed a trend in my articles. I may be fooling myself into thinking that there is anyone out there besides my mother who has read more than one of my articles.

OPINION | 03/29/2001

ADVERTISEMENT
The Daily Princetonian

Life on the Jolly Island

In case you haven't noticed, I'm studying abroad this year. As a service to underclassmen who are curious about the possibilities for "expanding your horizons" and "being old enough to buy beer," I would like to share a few of my foreign experiences.In many ways my life in England is similar to my life in the States.

OPINION | 03/29/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Students should value reading assignments, however longWhile Ryan Salvatore '02's column of March 26 probably demonstrates the plight of some unfortunate Princeton students, I would be loathe to apply his opinion to the majority of the student body.

OPINION | 03/28/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Defense shield will precipitate arms build-upMelissa Waage '01's March 26 column deriding national missile defense proposals parallels most critical writing on the subject in its tendency to portray unsupported assertions as truth.

OPINION | 03/27/2001

The Daily Princetonian

The importance of being tolerant

Several years ago, a friend came back from an interfaith discussion on campus. I asked him how it went, and he replied that everyone basically sat around carping about how terrible Christians were, apparently because Christianity espoused the view that it is the only true religion, the only path to salvation.

OPINION | 03/26/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Bound to be bookworms

Since we all have so many academic and extra-curricular commitments, it is not infrequent that students do not finish assigned readings, particularly in social science or humanities courses.

OPINION | 03/25/2001