Try our latest crossword
Listen to Daybreak for the day’s biggest stories
Check out the Frosh Survey results

Opinion

Moving the information age beyond 'memex'

In July of 1945, Vannevar Bush, then Director of the United States Office of Scientific Research and Development, penned an article entitled "As We May Think" in The Atlantic Monthly describing a magical device called the "memex." The memex, Bush explained, would be . . . a device in which an individual stores all his books, records, and communications, and which is mechanized so that it may be consulted with exceeding speed and flexibility.

OPINION | 03/05/1998

Adding dose of modernity to First Amendment

It was just a joke, the writers of The First Amendment said, all just a joke.Nine kids at Miami's Killian High thought it would be fun to get together and compile a pamphlet of their finest art, poetry and prose, and name it "The First Amendment." Their final product was certainly some piece of work ? a vulgar collection of racist commentary, innuendo and crude depictions of sex.One featured essay was entitled, "One Student's Complaint." Like all the other contributors to "The First Amendment," this one student remained ever so bravely anonymous while wondering "what would happen if I shot Dawson in the head?" Dawson, Principal Timothy Dawson, just so happens to be in charge at Killian High.Those fluent in psychobabble have chalked the booklet up to adolescent angst, that term now used to justify what once was known in many cases as juvenile irresponsibility.

OPINION | 03/04/1998

ADVERTISEMENT

Kodak moment

At 9 p.m. Monday the 'Prince' was inundated with calls from students ? both experienced and inexperienced with networked University computers ? who were concerned with the pictures appearing on the University's home page.

OPINION | 03/03/1998

The crumbling ivory tower

Ah, Italy enslaved, hostel of misery, ship without pilot in great tempest, no princess among the provinces, but a brothel!" I begin this column with Dante's great apostrophe to Italy in order to express what must be the sentiment of anyone who truly cares for this beautiful but seriously diseased and overrun university.While all of its publications have remained strangely silent or unceasingly self-congratulatory, Princeton has become enslaved to the disease of corporate greed, home to myriad forms of boredom, misery, loneliness and discontent ? a leaderless, purposeless place, and a sink of human cruelty and indifference.

OPINION | 03/02/1998

Big brother

Public Safety Crime Prevention Specialist Barry Weiser was pleased last Sunday with the performance of the "Axis 200 Web Camera" ? currently filming the progress of the new football stadium's construction ? when the camera caught trespassers on the construction site.

OPINION | 03/02/1998

Giving a nod to Durham's 'Cameron Crazies'

Two basketball games, one night. In one arena, thousands of college students waved green construction-paper leaves, taunting an opposing team for their star's quitting over charges of marijuana use.At the other stadium, somewhere over a thousand collegians jumped up and down and yelled repeatedly that their opposition "sucks."Which crowd would you rather be a part of?The first, I say.Which crowd was Princeton's?The second, you know.Last Saturday night's Dartmouth game was probably my last time in the stands for a Princeton basketball game as an undergraduate.

OPINION | 02/26/1998

Letters to the Editor

Ratings justifiedI am disturbed by the 164 law school deans who, in a letter to me and all law school applicants this year, claimed that "law school rankings may be hazardous to (my) health." Despite the warm-fuzziness of this egalitarian plea, I find their position perplexing.First of all, how is it that U.S.

OPINION | 02/26/1998

Letters to the Editor

On 'insults' to students' intellectThe current controversy over grade inflation at Princeton has prompted a number of newspaper articles and letters to the editor, from the front-page story in The New York Times to the recent statements of Mr. Corwin in Friday's 'Prince.' Everything that I have come across in respect to this situation has disturbed me greatly.The first insult was learning from The Times that every good grade that I have earned at Princeton is meaningless.

OPINION | 02/24/1998