Follow us on Instagram
Try our daily mini crossword
Play our latest news quiz
Download our new app on iOS/Android!

Opinion

The Daily Princetonian

A conservative, not a zealot

When a coalition of liberal groups including People for the American Way and Planned Parenthood unite to declare war on a man, and The New York Times cheers them on, it can mean only one thing: Someone is about to get Borked.To "Bork" someone is to smear him as a racist, misogynistic monster on the fringes of the political spectrum in order to derail a nomination.

OPINION | 01/09/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Correcting 'Prince' article on Tuesday's forum on raceAfter reading yesterday's article on the faculty-student race "debate," I decided it was finally time to sit down and send a word or two to my favorite Princeton establishment, The Daily Princetonian.

OPINION | 12/13/2000

ADVERTISEMENT
The Daily Princetonian

Housing crunch

As January 2002 drew ever closer to closure, Matt was in a state of utter panic. His final paper for Applied Ethics, which he hoped would be an eloquent defense of the eating of handicapped Irish babies, was still far from completed.

OPINION | 12/12/2000

The Daily Princetonian

Activism at risk

A Bush presidency may promise to save Americans a few extra dollars each year, but it will also threaten to deprive federal programs of much-needed funds.

OPINION | 12/11/2000

The Daily Princetonian

The parent trap

We're in the throes of college application season these days. The 'Prince' has been chronicling the plight of several applicants, and at the Frist Welcome Desk where I work, scores of prospective students have appeared looking for the Orange Key tours.At least I think the students have appeared.

OPINION | 12/10/2000

The Daily Princetonian

Far from perfection, but the 'Prince' race series gives us a good place to start

At first, I was quite skeptical of The Daily Princetonian's plans to cover race relations for two weeks (and I certainly feel no inherent loyalty to the project because of my position as a columnist). I was skeptical that 10 full days of coverage on race would get redundant, and skeptical about what the campus reaction might be.

OPINION | 12/05/2000

The Daily Princetonian

Black like me

The problem with Princeton University is not PU itself ? it's the term "P.C." I can't tell you how many times I have sat in a classroom listening to people stumbling and stammering, trying to say the words "African-American." They desperately try to ignore the syllable that mistakenly escapes from their lips: "Bla?." They scan the crowd for a face like mine, before realizing that the escaped "Bla?" might just render them a racist, a non-sympathizer or, God forbid, not "P.C."I sit around and listen to some of the students from the Caribbean distinguish themselves from black Americans.

OPINION | 12/05/2000

The Daily Princetonian

Born in the U.S.A.

The primary reason I chose to study abroad in Hong Kong was that I wanted to live in a place with as different a culture from the United States as possible.

OPINION | 12/04/2000

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Series on race raises issues of equity, equality and definitions of minority statusWe compliment the work of the reporters at The Daily Princetonian for pursuing the goal of chronicling the way race is lived at Princeton.

OPINION | 12/03/2000