Follow us on Instagram
Try our daily mini crossword
Play our latest news quiz
Download our new app on iOS/Android!

Opinion

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Princeton researchers' discovery nothing newThe recent announcement that Princeton researchers have discovered that Gutenberg perhaps did not invent true movable type is already well known.

OPINION | 02/12/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Considering the impact of Arafat after the Israeli election

I am writing in response to Sun Jung Kim's Feb. 9 article "Campus split on impact of Sharon victory." The tone of this article reflected much of the coverage by the 'Prince,' and local opinion, of the Israeli-Arab issue since the beginning of the most recent violence.The image that is projected is that all the Jews on campus are unified in opposition to the Arab students on campus.

OPINION | 02/11/2001

ADVERTISEMENT
The Daily Princetonian

Sharing the Wealth

Shortly after a column of mine was printed in these pages last month, I received an e-mail from a high school student in California who was considering Princeton but was a bit taken aback by my descriptions of "elitism" and other problems which, in my opinion, detract from the University environment.She asked, "Is Princeton really a place that would narrow my views rather than broaden them?

OPINION | 02/11/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Blackballing Bicker

Every year as it begins in earnest, Bicker swims in an aura of praise and criticism. At the risk of beating a dead elephant, I want to join the fray, not because I think I have anything original or significant to say, but because everyone ? including me ? has an opinion about it.To avoid any suspicions, I will admit upfront that I'm a happy victim of the process.

OPINION | 02/08/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Societal change depends on collective action, organizationIn his recent column, "The future of student activism," Adam Frankel mistakenly assumes that the effects of participation in "community service programs and interest in careers as teachers" are equivalent to those of political movements.

OPINION | 02/08/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Terms and resolutions

Although most universities end their first semesters at the end of the year, Princeton remains defiant of the Gregorian calendar and rolls its academic calendar over in February.

OPINION | 02/08/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Portrait of a columnist

In the spirit of Kramer's coffee table book about coffee tables, I thought I would write an editorial about editorials, or rather, what not to write editorials about.There are a few stock editorials which The Daily Princetonian runs every year and I implore all of you, regular columnists, guest columnists, aspiring columnists or infrequent letter writers, NOT to write about the following subjects:1) The Thesis.

OPINION | 02/07/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

In praise of intellectual humility, not Republican hypocrisyFor someone supposedly obsessed enough with the purity of academia to hole himself away in the Grad College for half of a decade, Michael Frazer GS seems to get quite a hoot out of spouting off liberal buzzwords and mantras without doing any original thinking for himself.

OPINION | 02/06/2001

The Daily Princetonian

The Making of a Movement

A few days ago, I was thinking of a metaphor for the way the University has regarded its service-related staff during the past decade, and the following image popped into my head: the three monkeys, with their eyes, ears and mouths covered.However, the message for Princeton workers is not that of "see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil." What it indicates instead is the inability of the University to open its eyes and ears to the needs of its lowest-paid workers, as well as its unwillingness to speak about improving wages and benefits.Even as the endowment soars to over $8 billion, the University has remained myopic to the needs of its human capital ? the hundreds of Princetonians who work for this University.

OPINION | 02/05/2001

Most Popular