Follow us on Instagram
Try our daily mini crossword
Play our latest news quiz
Download our new app on iOS/Android!

Opinion

The Daily Princetonian

Not a trivial pursuit

Students in the hallowed halls of the Woodrow Wilson School are forming plans to end world hunger, others in Fisher are pondering how to save Social Security and in an organic chemistry lab still others are preparing to heal the world.I'm a classical archaeology major; in other words, I sit around thinking about dead people.

OPINION | 03/05/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Created in our image

One day soon, human clones will walk among us. Does the thought send a shiver up your spine? How about the notion of eating french fries from a potato engineered with jellyfish genes to make its leaves bioluminescent?

OPINION | 03/05/2001

ADVERTISEMENT
The Daily Princetonian

Time to preach to more than just the choir

If ignorance is bliss, then it makes sense that white undergraduates are on the whole more content at Princeton than their minority peers."I just didn't know this was a problem," one student at a recent panel discussion about race said rather timidly, referring to remarks by several others that the 'Street' proves a major social obstacle for minorities on campus.One of only a handful of white faces amid 10 times as many audience members, she was clearly interested and involved enough to take part in the forum, so it was a bit disconcerting to find that the concept of social elitism, which affects most students, could be alien to her ears.

OPINION | 03/04/2001

The Daily Princetonian

SAT: Numerical value with no value at all

An article in the Feb. 26, 2001 issue of Time magazine reported an interesting development in the area of university education: Richard Atkinson, testing expert and president of the University of California, recommended that the UC system drop the SAT in its admission process, saying, "America's emphasis on the SAT is compromising our educational system." He noted the vast sums of money that parents spend on test-prep programs ? some starting from the age of 12 ? and that some parents even try to find psychologists to certify their children as "disabled" so they will qualify for extra test time.So, if the University of California can do it, why can't Princeton?

OPINION | 02/27/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Scaling down Scalia

When I took my seat in McCosh 50 last Friday night to hear Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia, I knew that he has become the most prominent symbol of an increasingly conservative Court, but I knew very little about what he actually believes.

OPINION | 02/26/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Student workers can ease situation of casualsI found it somewhat ironic that in a publication presumably distributed by the WROC, the organization articulated that the terrible working conditions faced by Princeton's casual dining hall workers were due to a shortage of student workers.

OPINION | 02/26/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Gimme a Break

"Well, looks like you just messed up Princeton's four-year graduation rate," my dad sarcastically quipped to me when I decided to take a year off last spring.

OPINION | 02/25/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Class interaction can be vital part of Princeton experience

I read with interest and bemusement that the University is planning a four-year college that in a newspaper report Anne Gordon '01 observes, "brings together graduate students and undergraduates in the same living space" and is "a very positive thing." University Vice-President Thomas Wright '62 commented, "We heard voices that one of the problems in undergraduate life is that they don't have ways to interact with one another."This is, in part, coming full circle, for that's the way it was.

OPINION | 02/25/2001