Today's Front Page
Try our latest crossword
Read our Earth Day special issue

Opinion

Letters to the Editor

On 1998 baccalaureate speakerAround this time last year, when the administration announced that Senator Bill Frist of Tennessee would address the Class of '97 at its baccalaureate services, my roommate Josh Cohen '97 and I protested to the 'Prince' that the University was trotting out yet another politician to address its graduates.

OPINION | 04/05/1998

Letters to the Editor

On dorm-construction dilemmaWhile we all were disappointed with the recent construction developments with Scully Hall as disclosed in the April 1 Daily Princetonian, I think we should attempt to put these events in some perspective.First, I think we would all agree that the administration's recent record of construction management has been exemplary over a broad range of projects.

OPINION | 04/02/1998

Time for a dip into the University's money pot

In case you haven't noticed, Princeton is rich. Each of us pays nearly $32,000 a year to attend the University, which is nothing compared to the $25 million being spent on a new student center, which is nothing compared to the $750 million being raised by the "With One Accord" anniversary campaign, which is nothing compared to Princeton's endowment of over $4 billion.I don't know about you, but I cannot even fathom such great sums of money.

OPINION | 04/01/1998

Lesson from the Oscars on thesis acknowledgements

Now that my dear colleague Hilary Smith has exploded the myth of the senior thesis like "Jiffy Pop," I thought that I would stop "kvetching" about the actual text of the tome and skip right to the acknowledgments page ? which, as of the day before my thesis, was still not done.After sitting in front of a half done thesis, pounding out lines on a caffeine high, I took a moment of solace to walk down by the golf course, contemplated the meaning of life, then figured it was all bullshit ? and I went in to watch the Oscars.

OPINION | 04/01/1998

ADVERTISEMENT

Letters to the Editor

On defending 'intellectual curiosity'Reading Adam Ollendorf's column titled "Reading deeper than the commercial world" in this morning's paper convinced me to believe not that intellectual curiosity is dead on this campus (because it isn't), but that intellectual snobbery thrives.The message behind Mr. Ollendorf's piece pivots around his interpretation of a statement that Faulkner is "not all that bad." First, I would say that a student describing work as not that bad is actually a compliment.

OPINION | 03/31/1998

Running in the sun: Defaming Nude Olympics tradition

What's more important to the sophomore class? Nudity or the Nude Olympics?With the balmy weather turning this place into a summer camp where we've replaced our books with frisbees quicker than you can say grade inflation, sophomores face the ultimate test this April Fool's evening: To run or not to run?The conversation mills have been churning out quite a range of ideas on how to run without the snow.

OPINION | 03/31/1998

'Scullygate'

It seems as though Vice President for Finance and Administration Dick Spies GS '72 and Director of Physical Planning Jon Hlafter '61 have found the perfect model for University housing in those tiny tins of sardines you can find in any local grocer.

OPINION | 03/31/1998

Reading deeper than the commercial world

If you read that other newspaper on campus, you undoubtedly know "Verbatim." For those of you who do not read or do not know what verbatim means, I will elaborate: "Verbatim" prints the most hilarious and outrageous statements overheard on campus ? excluding, of course, Ivy bicker interviews.But last week in Firestone, I heard something so shocking, not even "Verbatim" would print it.

OPINION | 03/30/1998

Letters to the Editor

On University, community rapportAs someone who has worked and volunteered in the Borough all of my adult life, and served a term as a Borough Councilman, I would like to make three points about the parking meter issue in Princeton Borough.1.

OPINION | 03/30/1998

A helping hand

The University is making good on its old adage "Princeton in the nation's service" through its new program of curriculum-based community service.

OPINION | 03/26/1998

Tearing down the age-old walls of the great 'Thesis Myth'

Recommendation for all seniors who are starting to feel the press of thesis panic: Visit Mudd Library.Mudd is the flat, nondescript library next to the computer science building, and it is there that senior theses from the 1920s are housed; presumably, some incredibly valuable manuscripts reside there as well because Mudd has more stringent security than most banks in this town.Think Marquand is bad?

OPINION | 03/25/1998

A look at the unspoken awards on Oscar night

The 70th Annual Academy Awards have come to a close. As is so disappointingly typical of this awards ceremony, there were few surprises: only once did I leap off my cushions screaming, "What the hell!" and that time it was more in anger than in genuine surprise.As expected, "Titanic" cleaned house, grabbing the Oscar for eleven of its fourteen nominations, including Best Director (silly looking James Cameron) and Best Picture.

OPINION | 03/25/1998