Sunday, February 28

Previous Issues

Today's Front Page
Subscribe to our Newsletters
Play the Friday crossword

Opinion

Letters to the Editor

On defense, criticismAs I read Mr. Klein's "opinion" piece, entitled "Please, just the facts ma'am" in the Monday issue of the 'Prince,' I was saddened to learn that the current Managing Board had broken their fingers and thus were incapable of composing an editorial response to the recent criticisms aimed at The Daily Princetonian.

OPINION | 02/10/1998

Making the grade

Yesterday afternoon the Faculty Committee on Examinations and Standing presented a report to the Faculty-Student Course of Study Committee that examined trends in grade inflation at the University over the last 24 years.

OPINION | 02/10/1998

Letters to the Editor

Committee defines roleThe Feb. 5 article entitled "Committee Supports Safe Bicker Amid Sexual Harassment Concerns" was misleading and represented a fundamental misunderstanding of the commitment that has been made by the eating clubs and the Standing Committee on the Status of Women.

OPINION | 02/09/1998

Ease of Travel

After years of inflexibility that often discouraged students from exploring study abroad opportunities, it appears that the Office of the Dean of Student Life and the majority of academic departments are not only allowing ? but actively encouraging ? students to experience foreign study.

OPINION | 02/08/1998

ADVERTISEMENT

Letters to the Editor

Please, just the facts ma'amIt's been a tough couple of weeks for the media. Not just the national press, though two weeks of Monica Madness has turned the press against itself and made a potentially important journalistic endeavor into another opportunity to damn the media to hell.

OPINION | 02/08/1998

Letters to the Editor

On dry Bicker and minority students' social lifeThe decision by some eating clubs this week to conduct "Dry Bicker" was made solely by members of the undergraduate and graduate boards of those clubs.

OPINION | 02/05/1998

Letters to the Editor

On incomplete 'Street' coverageI am appalled at your poor coverage of Monday's decision by four clubs to hold "dry Bicker." This is the most interesting campus news since the Sovereign Bank robbery, and your reporter would have us believe that T.I.

OPINION | 02/04/1998

All the president's women

I could write a solemn, factually accurate column in which I carefully explain why Bill Clinton has had almost nothing to do with the economy's recent strong performance and point out the numerous underpublicized foreign policy disasters he is responsible for and just in general say a lot of things that need to be said about a very disappointing presidency; but that doesn't sound like it would be much fun for anybody so instead I'm going to ridicule Bill's sex life.

OPINION | 02/04/1998

Letters to the Editor

On speaking out against CCC advertisementWe are writing in response to a full-page advertisement from the Campus Crusade for Christ, written by Margaret Bothner '98, which ran in the Friday, January16 issue of the 'Prince.' Starting from the premise that she need not "show what other religions or world views lack in order to illustrate why Christianity is so amazing," Ms. Bothner proceeds to describe what she considers some of the main and unique characteristics of Christianity.

OPINION | 02/03/1998

A Dose of Strong Coffee and the Chaos Theory

There is a verse from the Torah ? near the end of Numbers ? that my great-grandfather was fond of quoting whenever someone asked him why he didn't go to synagogue on Saturday mornings: "In any place that you remember me, I will come to you and bless you." He was a religious man, and he always devoted his Saturdays to prayer and study; but if he didn't have to leave his home ? which according to Jewish Law, he didn't ? then he stayed content within the walls of his apartment on Socrates St., Mexico City, Mexico, entirely oblivious to the goings on of the largest city in the world.I have always admired this: he lived simultaneously as a law unto himself and in strict accordance with another law ? Jewish law, which is not known for its flexibility.

OPINION | 02/03/1998

Time for a change

Debuting in this issue is the first segment in a four-part series portraying minority perspectives of and experiences with the 'Street.' It is a topic that addresses an integral element in the spectrum of race relations at the University, and one that reveals a significant aspect of social life in obvious need of change as the University approaches the millenium.Black and Hispanic students feel marginalized on Prospect Avenue because the clubs do not cater to a wide variety of groups.

OPINION | 02/02/1998

Passing the torch

A new group of editors takes over The Daily Princetonian with this issue. We will continue the tradition of journalistic integrity that has marked the first 121 years of this newspaper.

OPINION | 02/01/1998

Letters to the Editor

On safety at bicker, sign-insAs club selection week begins, we write to call your attention to the commitment that all of the eating clubs and many student leaders have endorsed.

OPINION | 02/01/1998