Try our latest crossword
Follow us on Instagram
Try our daily mini crossword

Opinion

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Stephens' honor code lessons for Arizona are more elitist than educationalJosh Stephens '97's "More than just a pledge" column in the May 1 edition of the Daily Princetonian bothered me.

OPINION | 05/02/2000

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Shame on 'Prince' for elitist 'At Your Convenience' seriesThe 'Prince's second installment in the "At Your Convenience" series ? chronicling a 'Prince' staff writer's experiences toiling as a convenience store worker at the Wa ? in the April 27 edition was an unfortunate example of the kind of thoughtless observations that come across as Ivy League snobbery.

OPINION | 04/30/2000

The Daily Princetonian

Panel discussion lacks substance as cult of celebrity scholars attracts stargazers

Last Thursday afternoon, I felt like a groundskeeper at the baseball All-Star Game. I was the microphone guy at the April 27 panel discussion entitled "How Can Values Be Taught in the University?"At a star-studded event with so much potential for rich debate, what the McCosh audience received was actually more show than substance.

OPINION | 04/30/2000

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Commentary on U-Council was unfairI am writing in response to the April 27 Daily Princetonian commentary concerning the gender composition of the newly elected undergraduate U-Council.

OPINION | 04/27/2000

ADVERTISEMENT
The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Graduate Student Government is racially diverse and gender-balancedIn response to the April 25 article "Diversity Deficiency" on the lack of diversity among undergraduate U-Councilors, I am happy to report that graduate students just elected a very diverse group of graduate U-Councilors at Tuesday night's Graduate Student Government meeting.For the first time, graduate students directly voted for their U-Councilor representatives.

OPINION | 04/26/2000

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Wealthy can be valuable contributors to charityI would never discourage anyone from active volunteer work, yet I strongly objected to Stella Daily's characterization of "wealthy people of the future" as potential "lazy activists" in the April 25 issue of The Daily Princetonian.

OPINION | 04/25/2000

The Daily Princetonian

The Invisible Avenue

For the last few days, pre-frosh have swarmed the campus. Equipped with maps, '04 buttons and awed gazes, they are hard to miss.On tours, at receptions and at panel discussions, pre-frosh are barraged with facts and figures about what makes Princeton unique.

OPINION | 04/25/2000

The Daily Princetonian

Child custody battles should not depend on religion or politics

As we think about the painful images of Elian Gonzalez being carried from his home by FBI agents, we should also recall the other high-profile international custody battle that has escalated during the past week.In New York in March 1998, Gehan Mohamed Fathi Ali Ahmed, a 23-year-old Egyptian woman, married Yiannis Diamandis, a 29-year-old Greek man.

OPINION | 04/24/2000

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

IMF protests part of democratic processAs someone who was in Washington, D.C., for the protests against the IMF and the World Bank, I would like to respond to the April 21 opinion pieces by Melissa Waage '01 and Kushanava Choudhury '00.Waage suggested that, instead of practicing direct action in the streets, we should "lobby" the World Bank and IMF, "suggest alternative policies" and "develop grassroots support" in the countries affected.

OPINION | 04/24/2000

The Daily Princetonian

In praise of the power nap: Even world leaders need a little shut-eye

Apparently, college students are not the only ones who use libraries and meeting rooms as locations to put in some serious time working off sleep deprivation.Two weeks ago, the venerable New York Times ran a cover story not on wars or famine or Internet billionaires suddenly unable to pay their phone bills, but on the best spots for U.N.

OPINION | 04/23/2000