Follow us on Instagram
Try our daily mini crossword
Play our latest news quiz
Download our new app on iOS/Android!

Opinion

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Race, gender committees will seek diverse viewpointsIt has been very exciting over the past few days to hear both in person and via e-mail just how important many undergraduates believe that my proposed initiatives on race and gender will be.

OPINION | 02/22/2001

The Daily Princetonian

A proposal for protecting the creative process from prudish sensibilities

It all started Saturday night when we arrived at the Hamilton Multi-Plex to find that "O Brother, Where Art Thou" was sold out and the only movie with tickets available was "Requiem for a Dream," of which we knew only two things: one of us had a friend from home who said it was good ? and that it was rated NC-17.What followed was possibly the most intense two hours I have ever spent in a movie theater: a cross between "Snatch," "The Cell," "Kids" and the most upsetting parts of "Traffic." I left feeling drained, a bit disturbed ? but not offended or angry ? and convinced that the NC-17 rating was well-deserved.It's not every day that one sees an NC-17 rated movie, so I got to thinking.

OPINION | 02/22/2001

ADVERTISEMENT
The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Students need passion and the will to act against povertyOn Feb. 11, Peter Bell GS '64 gave an insightful and important lecture to the Princeton community entitled "Affirming Dignity and Ending Poverty: The Search for a Better World." Calling on his experience from his days at Princeton to his days as the president of CARE (one of the world's largest private international relief and development organizations, which has received two Nobel Peace Prize nominations), he spoke of the ongoing fight to end poverty throughout the world.

OPINION | 02/20/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Prospects on the 'Street'

I must admit I am somewhat perplexed by the recent controversy about our 'Street.' As an avowed fan of the eating clubs, I cannot understand why anyone would propose bulldozing them, or even weakening their position as Princeton's primary source of entertainment.

OPINION | 02/19/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Back to reality

Most television programs that claim to depict some type of reality ? an evening newscast, for example, or an emergency room documentary ? should not be held morallly responsible for the events that they portray.

OPINION | 02/19/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Letters to the Editor

Dining plan restricts students' optionsThe increasing restrictions on Dining Services meal plans are indicative of gross inefficiency, which might be better tolerated if the food were more edible.

OPINION | 02/19/2001

The Daily Princetonian

Initiations saw more abuse, same follow-up procedures

I write to clarify a comment attributed to me in the the article entitled "Police, administration respond to initiation weekend hospitalizations" in Thursday's issue of The Daily Princetonian, in which I was quoted as having said that the "this was no different from other initiation weekends." By that I did not mean to imply that the extent of the abuse was comparable to past years but that the process we use in following up with students about these behaviors is the same process we would use were they to engage in similar behavior at any other time of the year.

OPINION | 02/18/2001

The Daily Princetonian

'V-Day' goes down

Saturday night, I found myself listening to thousands of women moaning in simultaneous feigned orgasm in Madison Square Garden.The occasion was "V-Day," a celebrity-packed production of Eve Ensler's "The Vagina Monologues." Since 1998, V-Day has become an international movement, with the monologues being performed at over 400 colleges (including Princeton) around Valentine's Day.

OPINION | 02/14/2001

Most Popular