Listen to Daybreak and be up-to-date in three minutes
Today's Front Page
Try our latest crossword

Opinion

Get on with it

The ongoing process of amending the current P/D/F system is a fine example of students and administration working together.

OPINION | 04/07/1998

ADVERTISEMENT

Trailer construction

Typical Princeton students who caught basketball fever this spring are having their styles seriously cramped by departmental relocations resulting from the Frist Campus Center's construction.

OPINION | 04/05/1998

Letters to the Editor

On 1998 baccalaureate speakerAround this time last year, when the administration announced that Senator Bill Frist of Tennessee would address the Class of '97 at its baccalaureate services, my roommate Josh Cohen '97 and I protested to the 'Prince' that the University was trotting out yet another politician to address its graduates.

OPINION | 04/05/1998

Letters to the Editor

On dorm-construction dilemmaWhile we all were disappointed with the recent construction developments with Scully Hall as disclosed in the April 1 Daily Princetonian, I think we should attempt to put these events in some perspective.First, I think we would all agree that the administration's recent record of construction management has been exemplary over a broad range of projects.

OPINION | 04/02/1998

Time for a dip into the University's money pot

In case you haven't noticed, Princeton is rich. Each of us pays nearly $32,000 a year to attend the University, which is nothing compared to the $25 million being spent on a new student center, which is nothing compared to the $750 million being raised by the "With One Accord" anniversary campaign, which is nothing compared to Princeton's endowment of over $4 billion.I don't know about you, but I cannot even fathom such great sums of money.

OPINION | 04/01/1998

Lesson from the Oscars on thesis acknowledgements

Now that my dear colleague Hilary Smith has exploded the myth of the senior thesis like "Jiffy Pop," I thought that I would stop "kvetching" about the actual text of the tome and skip right to the acknowledgments page ? which, as of the day before my thesis, was still not done.After sitting in front of a half done thesis, pounding out lines on a caffeine high, I took a moment of solace to walk down by the golf course, contemplated the meaning of life, then figured it was all bullshit ? and I went in to watch the Oscars.

OPINION | 04/01/1998

Letters to the Editor

On defending 'intellectual curiosity'Reading Adam Ollendorf's column titled "Reading deeper than the commercial world" in this morning's paper convinced me to believe not that intellectual curiosity is dead on this campus (because it isn't), but that intellectual snobbery thrives.The message behind Mr. Ollendorf's piece pivots around his interpretation of a statement that Faulkner is "not all that bad." First, I would say that a student describing work as not that bad is actually a compliment.

OPINION | 03/31/1998

Running in the sun: Defaming Nude Olympics tradition

What's more important to the sophomore class? Nudity or the Nude Olympics?With the balmy weather turning this place into a summer camp where we've replaced our books with frisbees quicker than you can say grade inflation, sophomores face the ultimate test this April Fool's evening: To run or not to run?The conversation mills have been churning out quite a range of ideas on how to run without the snow.

OPINION | 03/31/1998