Thursday, February 25

Previous Issues

Today's Front Page
Subscribe to our Newsletters
Play the Friday crossword

Opinion Open

Bosstones to play P-Party; contract remains uncertain

The Mighty Mighty Bosstones will be knocking on the wooden floors of Dillon Gym this April for the University's annual P-Party, the band's booking agency said yesterday.Although the USG would not confirm the contract with the Bosstones, a ska-core band that has gained fame recently for its single "The Impression That I Get," the booking agency, Monterey Peninsula Artists, said the band would play in Dillon April 17."In this business, nothing is ever final until a contract is signed," said USG social chair Jeff Leven '00, who has the responsibility of getting a band for the annual spring concert.

NEWS | 02/24/1998

Letters to the Editor

On 'insults' to students' intellectThe current controversy over grade inflation at Princeton has prompted a number of newspaper articles and letters to the editor, from the front-page story in The New York Times to the recent statements of Mr. Corwin in Friday's 'Prince.' Everything that I have come across in respect to this situation has disturbed me greatly.The first insult was learning from The Times that every good grade that I have earned at Princeton is meaningless.

OPINION | 02/24/1998

ADVERTISEMENT

Engineers investigate Jadwin floor after hoops fans shake bleachers

During the last three home basketball games, enthusiastic students and sellout crowds have rocked Jadwin ? literally.Following last week's Penn-Princeton game ? during which students jumped up and down in unison causing the court and ceiling to shake visibly ? the University called in an outside consultant to observe the floor during Friday's contest against Harvard.Director of Engineering Tom Nyquist called Allen Roth, vice president of Joseph B.

NEWS | 02/23/1998

Malkiel meets with students to discuss grading practices

Bringing the issue of grade inflation back to campus after it received national attention, Dean of the College Nancy Malkiel met with student representatives for the first time since her grading report was issued.Sunday's USG meeting gave students the opportunity to discuss grade inflation, P/D/F reform and the possibility of more flexible finals with Malkiel.Because the Committee on Examinations and Standing does not include students, the grade inflation report was issued without the consultation of students.

NEWS | 02/23/1998

Considering the consequences of alleged grade inflation

In the wake of The New York Times article on grade inflation at Princeton University, I began to ponder the effects such a situation could have on the future of Princeton students.In good faith, I cannot deny all of the claims the article made, partly because I've only completed one semester here and partly because I've heard stories of grade inflation in certain courses.

OPINION | 02/23/1998

Knight to resign as LGBA liaison

After serving less than one year as the Student Life office's liaison with the campus lesbian, gay and bisexual community, Stephen Knight said yesterday he will be resigning at the end of this week.Knight, who is an intern in the office, said he is leaving the University to take a position in New York City's family court system.

NEWS | 02/23/1998

Women's hockey drops two to UNH, Colby

This weekend the women's hockey team said parting words to its seniors, as the members of the class of '98 squared off in their final two home games at Baker Rink.After losing to Colby, 4-2, Saturday and to New Hampshire Sunday, Princeton (11-14-1 overall, 8-12-0 Eastern College Athletic Conference) must get out of its current slump, or risk having to say goodbye to the postseason as well.In Sunday's game, the offensive statistics for each team were quite similar.

SPORTS | 02/23/1998

Campus cable coverage prevents live broadcast of basketball games

Although 1.2 million homes in the eastern Pennsylvania and New Jersey area were privy to last week's home basketball game against the University of Pennsylvania, the few thousand students here on campus were awarded no such luck.Unlike last year, the University has divided this year's men's basketball television coverage between two competing cable companies, one that is much larger and caters to a regional audience and another that serves a very localized area.Comcast, which serves an expansive eastern cable area ? with the exception of University dorms ? has televised the men's home games against Monmouth, Manhattan, Yale and Penn, and they will also provide live coverage of next week's away-game versus the Philadelphia rival.RCN, the smaller provider that feeds all University cable, does not have as large a media exposure for the men's team as Comcast.According to Kurt Kehl, associate director of Athletics for Public Affairs, RCN was supposed to televise the Penn game, but did not due to technical errors."The Comcast broadcast was on satellite, but RCN failed to pull it off," he said.

NEWS | 02/23/1998

Letters to the Editor

On defense of 'Smart Fan' logicSince the printing of yesterday's 'Prince' article "Student group criticizes fan behavior at basketball games," I have received an exorbitant amount of criticism for my participation in the 'Smart Fans' fight against excessive heckling at basketball games.Let me begin by saying that when Jon Garfunkel first approached me about my feelings on the matter and before the article was even printed, I would not have considered myself a devout 'Smart Fan.' However, after justifying myself and my position on the topic to my friends and acquaintances this afternoon, I have found even more of a reason to be a part of Jon's impromptu organization of like-minded students.Jon Garfunkel, in all of his efforts, is not attempting to hamper fan participation and spirit at games.

OPINION | 02/23/1998

Men's squash upset by Amherst, finishes fifth in ISA Tournament

Men's squash knew that if it was to be stopped this weekend in its quest for an Intercollegiate Squash Association team title, its downfall would come in a rematch.Yet the Tigers could never have anticipated that their title run would end so soon, almost before it even started, in their "other" rematch.While many looked ahead to a semifinal meeting with second-seeded Harvard Saturday that would have pitted the Tigers against the only team to beat them this season, few thought that Princeton would have too much trouble getting by sixth-seeded Amherst, a team the Tigers had defeated, 7-2, just nine days ago.The Lord Jeffs, however, stunned the Tigers in the first round, 5-4, ending the Tigers' title hopes and sending Princeton into the consolation draw.Although Princeton (13-2 overall, 5-1 Ivy League) rebounded to take fifth place at ISAs with impressive wins over Denison (9-0) and Western Ontario (8-1), it was little consolation to a team that looked to challenge for a title."We came in high, playing so well," sophomore No.

SPORTS | 02/22/1998